tell me, who will save you when there’s no one else around, and you can’t turn to me

3 Doors Down – When It’s Over

So I was lying in bed yesternight, or rather, in the wee hours of this morning, thinking. Because, sleep seemed to elude me.

I think i know what’s my problem now.

I live in the past. I dream about the future.

And that’s the problem.

There’s never a present. It seems like i don’t really give much of a damn about the present.

You see, i live in the past. Anyone who knows me well enough knows that. I look back on fond memories, and get myself stuck in time. I love the past. I always look back, to see what has happened, to see what’s wrong, and keep harping on the same things. The same regrets, the things you can’t change anymore.

I dream about the future. My mind’s imagination is too wild, too insane. I can come up with crazy thoughts of what the future would be like, for myself, for the people around me, for the world. It’s unhealthy, to say the least. Living in a fantasy all the time. Sure, it’s good to have goals, it’s good to have dreams. But to constantly think about it? Isn’t that a bit too much?

Herein lies the problem. The present doesn’t exist in my world. I make crazy decisions. Sometimes, too fast, sometimes, too slow. Never just right. Things never work out. I get stuck, thinking would i regret this when i do it? And i get stuck, thinking what would happen if i don’t? And there’s never a way out. Until i throw it to the luck of a coin flip, a dice toss.

I need to change this. I really need to. I need to do something about the present.

Meh. It sucks when there’s no one you can talk to about things.

Life moves on. What’s left behind? Only dreams and memories.

Leave a comment